THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA ASHEVILLE

FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

April 27, 2023 - Highsmith Blue Ridge Room First Meeting of the 2023-24 Academic Year

Members: D. Eggers, A. Laughlin, K. Boyle, M. Mahoney, J. Brown, B. Butler, S. Dittenber,

B. Felix, S. Kapur, L. Kloeppel, T. Meigs, B. Sanft, R. Tatum, E. Tomberlin, L. Ward,

C. Whitlock, S. Williams; H. Holt.

Visitors: R. Berls, J. Dougherty.

I. Call to Order, Introductions and Announcements Senate Chair Dee Eggers

- II. Election of Faculty Senate Officers
 - a. Election of Chair of the Senate and Chair of the Executive Committee (EC)

 Andrew Laughlin presiding.

Dee Eggers was re-elected Faculty Senate Chair for 2023-4.

She continued to preside over the rest of the Senate meeting.

Election of Faculty Senate Vice Chairs by new elected Senate Chair:

- b. First Vice Chair & Chair of the Academic Policies Committee (APC) Andrew Laughlin was re-elected APC Chair for 2023-24.
- c. Second Vice Chair & Chair of the Institutional Development Committee (IDC) Kirk Boyle was elected IDC Chair for 2023-24.
- d. Third Vice Chair & Chair of the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee (FWDC) Melissa Mahoney was elected FWDC Chair for 2023-24.
- IV. Faculty Welfare and Development Committee Report
 - a. Committee Work-in-Progress (<u>Final Approved Nominees to Standing Committees</u>)
 Becky Sanft presented the nominees and called for a motion to accept nominees to Standing Committees for 2023-24.

A motion was made to accept, which was seconded.

Nominees to Standing Committees passed without dissent.

- V. Committee Assignment Preferences
 - Each non-officer Senator turned in their preferences for Senate subcommittee assignments. The Executive Committee made the subcommittee assignments and announced them [X] weeks later.
- VIII. Adjourn

Dee Eggers adjourned the meeting at 8:30 p.m.