THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT ASHEVILLE FACULTY SENATE MEETING OFFICIAL MINUTES

April 29, 2020; First Meeting of 2021-22 Faculty Senate

Members: M. Cameron, S. DiPalma, J. Li, C. Kennedy, E. Adell, M. Bettencourt, V. Bradbury (alternate),

J. Butera, R. Chapman (alternate), D. Clarke, A. Cossette, A. Dunn (alternate), V. Frank,

B. Hook, S. Kapur (alternate), T. King, J. Pisano, T. Ruffin, B. Sanft, R. Tatum, L. Ward,

S. Williams, J. Zunguze.

Visitors: S. Broberg, B. Haggard, H. Parlier, A. Shope, J. Ward.

I. Call to Order, Introductions of Attendees

Senate Chair Marietta Cameron

II. Election to Faculty Senate from among the Alternates

Jake Butera was elected to fill the Senate Seat vacancy.

III. Election of Faculty Senate Officers

a. Chair of the Senate and Chair of the Executive Committee (EC)
 Sonya DiPalma presiding.
 Marietta Cameron was elected Faculty Senate Chair for 2021-22.

Election of Faculty Senate Vice Chairs

- b. First Vice Chair and Chair of the Academic Policies Committee (APC) Toby King was elected APC Chair for 2021-22.
- c. Second Vice Chair and Chair of the Institutional Development Committee (IDC) Jinhua Li was elected IDC Chair for 2021-22.
- d. Third Vice Chair and Chair of the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee (FWDC) Becky Sanft was elected FWDC Chair for 2021-22.
- IV. Faculty Welfare and Development Committee Report
 - a. Committee Work-in-Progress (<u>Final Approved Nominees to Standing Committees</u>)
 Caroline Kennedy presented the nominees and called for a motion to accept nominees to Standing Committees for 2021-22.
 A motion was made to accept, which was seconded.
 Nominees to Standing Committees passed without dissent.
- V. Committee Assignment Preferences
 - a. Each non-officer Senator turned in their preferences for Senate subcommittee assignments. The Executive Committee made the <u>subcommittee assignments</u> and announced them the next week.
- VI. Adjourn