## THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT ASHEVILLE

## **FACULTY SENATE AGENDA**

April 30, 2020; First Meeting of the 2020-2021 Faculty Senate

## **Red Oak Conference Room**

Members M. Cameron, S. DiPalma, J. Li, C. Kennedy, J. Brock, S. Clark, D. Clarke, R. Criser,

V. Frank, G. Heard, B. Hook, T. King, A. Moraguez, J. Pisano, T. Ruffin, A. Wray,

J. Zunguze, G. Campbell.

Members

Excused: M. Bettencourt, A. Cossette.

I. Call to Order, Introductions and Announcements

Marietta Cameron

- II. Election of Faculty Senate Officers
  - a. Chair of the Senate and Chair of the Executive Committee (EC)
    Marietta Cameron was elected Faculty Senate Chair for 2020-21.

## **Election of Faculty Senate Vice Chairs**

- b. First Vice Chair and Chair of the Academic Policies Committee (APC) Sonya DiPalma was elected APC Chair for 2020-21.
- c. Second Vice Chair and Chair of the Institutional Development Committee (IDC) Jinhua Li was elected IDC Chair for 2020-21.
- d. Third Vice Chair and Chair of the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee (FWDC) Caroline Kennedy was elected FWDC Chair for 2020-21.
- III. Faculty Welfare and Development Committee Report
  - a. Committee Work-in-Progress (<u>Nominees to Standing Committees</u>)
     Dr. John Brock called for a motion to accept nominees to Standing Committees for 2020-21. A motion was made to accept, which was seconded.
     Nominees to Standing Committees passed without dissent.
- IV. Committee Assignment Preferences
  - Each non-officer Senator turned in their preferences for Senate subcommittee assignments.
     The Executive Committee made the <u>subcommittee assignments</u> and announced them the next week.
- V. Old Business
- VI. New Business
- IX. Adjourn

Marietta Cameron, the newly elected Senate Chair, adjourned the meeting at 8:30 p.m.