THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA ASHEVILLE

FACULTY SENATE AGENDA

December 5, 2019; 3:15 pm

Highsmith Union, Blue Ridge Ballroom North

I. Call to Order / Approval of Minutes: November 7, 2019 3:15 p.m.

II. Executive Committee: Faculty Senate Chair Laura Bond

Student Government Association: President Isaiah Green

Staff Council: Chair Erin Spence

Faculty Assembly Delegate Report: Professor Melodie Galloway

III. Administration/Academic Affairs: Provost Garikai Campbell

Handbook Edits

Reference Documents: Preface 0.0 and Section 14.2

IV. Academic Policies Committee: First Vice Chair Marietta Cameron

Decision Summaries

First Reading

<u>APC 5</u>: Add an entry for the Academic Success Program and update the requirements

for students on Academic Warning

APC 6: Add new course, LA 150, as a permanent course for the Academic Success Program

(Brad Petitfils, Anne Marie Roberts, LA)

APC 7: Rename the Department of Chemistry to the Department of Chemistry and

Biochemistry; Edit the departmental narrative

APC 9: Remove (General Chemistry II) from the title of CHEM 233

(Sally Wasileski, CHEM)

APC 10: Petition for Exemption: Department of Atmospheric Sciences (ATMS)

APC 11: Delete ATMS 205, 241, 251, and 261, replacing with ATMS 203 and 204

APC 12: Change prerequisites for ATMS 305, 315, 316, 325, 328, 345, 350, 405, 410, and 411

APC 13: Change requirements for major in Atmospheric Sciences

APC 14: Change requirements for minor in Atmospheric Sciences

<u>APC 15</u>: Change narrative description for Atmospheric Sciences

(Christopher Hennon, ATMS)

^{*}If you have questions to be addressed regarding these first reading documents, please contact Marietta Cameron, APC Chair at mcameron@unca.edu.

Second Reading

APC 3: Change IST 200 for 2 credits, to IST 310 for 3 credits

(Mary Lynn Manns, IST)

APC 4: Change course requirements in the Arts Management and

Entrepreneurship (AME) major concentration and minor

within Interdisciplinary Studies

(Laura Bond, IST/AME)

V. Faculty Welfare and Development Committee: Third Vice Chair Aubri Rote

Reference Documents: SD7519S SD7619S

VI. Institutional Development Committee / UPC: Second Vice Chair Patrick Bahls

VII. Executive Committee: Faculty Senate Chair Laura Bond

Second Reading

EC 1: MLAS Program Review

Addendum 1: MLAS Response to Faculty Senate's Program Review

VIII. Election from among Senate Alternates for Senate Vacancy during Spring 2020

IX. Old Business/New Business

X. Adjourn