# University of North Carolina at Asheville FACULTY SENATE MEETING Minutes, April 26, 2012 (6:28 pm)

Senate

Members: R. Bowen, M. Burchard, D. Eggers, M. Galloway, E. Gant, B. Hobby, B. Hook, G. Kormanik,

C. McKnight, T. Meigs, B. Miller, S. Mills, R. Roig, N. Ruppert, B. Schaffer, S. Subramaniam;

J. Fernandes.

2011-12 Presiding Chair: V. Frank.

Excused: S. Kaplan, K. Ray.

Visitors: J. Konz.

#### I. Call to Order and Announcements

Dr. Volker Frank called the first meeting of the 2012-13 Faculty Senate to order at 6:28 pm and welcomed new Senators.

#### II. Election of Officers

Executive Committee elections were held with the following results:

Chair of the Senate and Chair of the Executive Committee:

Melissa Burchard

First Vice Chair and Chair of the Academic Policies Committee: Sophie Mills

Second Vice Chair and Chair of the Institutional Development Committee:

Ted Meigs

Third Vice Chair and Chair of the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee:
Rob Bowen

#### III. Faculty Welfare and Development Committee

Mr. Rob Bowen reported for the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee.

#### **Second Reading**

FWDC 16: Modification of Faculty Scholarship and Service Awards Committee (Revision of SD7708S; Faculty Handbook 10.3.4)

In April 2008, SD7708S was passed by the Faculty Senate and it revised the membership and duties of the Faculty Scholarship and Service Awards Committee. An oversight was made that reduced the number of recipients of the Distinguished Scholarship and Creative Activity Award from two to one. It was never intended to be one and up until that time, two awards were always presented. This document would correct that oversight. FWDC 16 passed without dissent and became SD0112F.

#### **Committee Work-in-Progress (Nominees to Standing Committees)**

Dr. Reed Roig said in accordance with Faculty Handbook Section 10.2.1, the new Faculty Senate elects new members to faculty standing committees. FWDC has prepared the following list of nominees to some of these committees using information generated from committee preferences, as well as taking into consideration those who have not been on committees. Please note that this list in not a complete list of all standing committees (or of committees otherwise defined in the Faculty Handbook). FWDC will complete the committee assignments at its first meeting in the Fall.

The Senate elected the following new members to faculty standing committees:

Minority Affairs Commission (SD46)	506S)	) (SD5000S	5)
------------------------------------	-------	------------	----

(at least 2 of Senate appointments must be minority)

continuing: 2010-13: Katherine Min; \*Oguz Erdur; 2011-14: Leisa Rundquist; \*Linda Cornett

2012-2015: [not yet determined]

**University Service Council (USC)** (SD7908S)

continuing: 2010-13: Ed Johnson (NS); 2011-14: Micheal Stratton (SS)

2012-2015: Hum [not yet determined]

**University Relations Faculty Advisory** (SD5407S)

continuing: 2011-13: Susan Reiser (NS), Heon Lee (SS)

2011-13: Mark Gibney (faculty representative on Foundation Board)

2012-2014: Dan Pierce Humanities

**University Research Council (URC)** (SD1209S; SD7808S)

**Recommendations of Senate Chair** 

continuing: 2011-13: Brent Skidmore (arts); Michael Neelon (SS)

2012-2014: Jonathan Horton Math/Science

2012-2014: Erica Abrams Locklear Hum

2012-2014: Donna Parsons Mgmt/Act, Educ, Phy Ed

**University Teaching Council (UTC)** (SD1309S)

continuing: 2011-13 Jennifer Ward (NS)

2012-2014	Grace Campbell	At large Previous Award winner
2012 2014	Lori Honritz	Lum

2012-2014 Lori Horvitz Hum 2012-2014 Sonya DiPalma SS

2012-2013 FWDC Representative (TBA)

<u>ILS Intensive Subcommittees</u> (SD6309S; SD8307S, SD0105F; SD0304F; SD0703F) **4-yr non-consecutive**; max of 5 voting members, except WI=8 voting members)

**ILS Diversity** 

continuing: 2009-13: B. Schaffer; 2010-14: Katherine Min, Katherine Zubko;

2011-15: Evelyn Chiang

2012-2016: \_\_\_\_\_ [not yet determined]

**ILS Information Literacy** 

continuing: 2010-14: Cynthia Canejo, Reed Roig; 2011-15: Christopher Oakley

2012-2016: Brandy Bourne (Web Services Librarian)
2012-2016: \_\_\_\_\_ [not yet determined]

**ILS Quantitative Intensive** 

continuing: 2009-13: Chris Godfrey; 2010-14: Charles McKnight;

2011-15: Dean Brock, Janine Haugh

2012-2016: Chris Bell

**ILS Writing Intensive** 

continuing: 2009-13: Jim Driggers, Irene Rossell

2010-14: Jennifer Rhode Ward, Curt Cloninger

2011-15: Rebecca Hale, David Hopes

2012-2016: Amanda Wray 2012-2016: Michael Gouge

**ILS Topical Cluster** 

continuing: 2009-13: Kim Brown, Seamus McNerney; 2011-15: Laura Bond

2012-2016: Amy Lanou

2012-2016: [not yet determined]

**ILS Colloquium** 

continuing: 2009-13: Karen Cole, Jason Schmeltzer;

2010-14: Rodger Payne; 2011-15: Connie Schrader

2012-2016: [not yet determined]

**Graduate Council - MLA** (SD3908S)

With MLA teaching experience, one from each division

continuing: 2010-13: Mike Neelon (SS); 2011-14: Randy Booker (NS)

2012-2015: Keya Maitra Humanities

#### **University Relations Faculty Advisory (SD5407S)**

continuing: 2011-13: Curtis Cloninger (NS), Heon Lee (SS)

2011-13: Mark Gibney (faculty representative on Foundation Board)

2012-2014: Dan Pierce Humanities

# Intellectual Property Committee (See Section 9.4) (SD1105S) (SD3402S)

continuing: 2010-13: David Steele (NS); 2011-14: Elena Adell (Hum)

2012-2015: Alan Hantz Social Sciences

## **UNCA University Foundation Board**

continuing: 2011-13: Bob Yearout

2012-2014: Robert Tatum

## **Library and Instructional Technology Committee (SD1112S)**

new committee. FWDC nominates, Senate appoints, 3-yr staggered, renewal terms.

<mark>2012-2015</mark>	Scott Walters	Humanities & the Arts
<mark>2012-2014</mark>	Betsy Wilson	Natural Sciences
<mark>2012-2013</mark>	Melissa Himelein	Social Sciences

#### **Transportation Committee (SD3106S)**

continuing: 2011-13: Jimin Lee (previous alternate); 2011-13: Eric Tomberlin, Alternate

2012-2014: Cynthia Chadwick (previous alternate)
2012-2014: Douglas Miller Alternate

## **Sustainability Committee (SD7907S)**

continuing: 2011-13: Jason Wingert (previous alternate); 2011-13: Steve Patch, Alternate

2012-2014 Dee Eggers (previous alternate)

2012-2014 Grace Campbell Alternate

## **Textbook Committee** (SD3508S)

continuing: 2011-13: Alice Weldon (University Programs), Karin Peterson (SS)

2012-2014: Kitti Reynolds Natural Sciences
2012-2014: Grant Hardy Humanities

## **Inquiry ARC Advisory Committee** (SD4612S)

**New Committee.** FWDC appoints in consultation with QEP Director. Two more members to complete the representation from each of 3 program areas. **Staggered 3-yr terms**.

2012-2014:	[not yet determined]
2012-2015:	[not yet determined]

# **Institutional Effectiveness Committee (SD2612S)**

Senate appoints from FWDC list of candidates, balanced by program area. 2-yr terms.

2012-2014:	Kim Brown	Social Sciences
2012-2014:	Cynthia Canejo	<b>Humanities</b>
2012-2013:	Patrick Bahls	Natural Sciences

<sup>\*</sup>P (Provost Appointees)

# **IV.** Committee Assignment Preferences

Dr. Burchard asked Senators to submit their committee preferences. The Executive Committee will convene at the close of this meeting to determine committee assignments.

# V. Adjourn

Dr. Burchard adjourned the meeting at 6:43 pm.

Respectfully submitted by: Sandra Gravely

**Executive Committee**