THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT ASHEVILLE FACULTY SENATE

	ange the number of U.C. committee members
Statement of Faculty Senate Act	ion
Date of Senate Approval	<u>05/02/13</u>
Senate Document Number	<u>9113S</u>

FWDC <u>12</u> :	Change the number of ILS committee members
	(Revision of <u>Section 10.3.8</u> of the Faculty Handbook
	Faculty ILS Oversight Committee (ILSOC)
	SD8307S SD0703F SD0304F SD0105F SD6309S)

Effective date: Fall 2013

Summary: This change will provide ILS subcommittees with more options for scheduling meetings in which all appointed members can participate. The impact will be a positive one given that subcommittees will be able to complete work more efficiently and effectively.

Rationale: ILS is now a well-established university program, and effective and efficient procedures for the work of the subcommittees have been established. Therefore, large subcommittees are no longer needed, particularly for the Writing Intensive Subcommittee (which currently has nine members). Given the ever- increasing demands on faculty time, it has become increasingly difficult to find times when all committee members are free for regular committee meetings, so smaller, more streamlined committees are desirable.

1. Delete: from Faculty Handbook under <u>Section 10.3.8</u> the final paragraph in the section entitled "Structure:"

The paragraph currently reads as follows:

Members of intensive subcommittees are appointed by Faculty Senate, upon nomination from the FWDC. Subcommittees will consist of a maximum of five members, except for the Writing Intensive subcommittee, which will have eight appointed members in addition to the Director of the University Writing Center who will serve ex officio, without vote. Members will serve staggered, non-consecutive four-year terms. In choosing subcommittee members the Senate should give consideration to candidates' experience and/or interest in the particular intensive area of the subcommittee.

2. Replace With:

Members of ILS subcommittees are appointed by Faculty Senate, upon nomination from the FWDC. Subcommittees will consist of a minimum of four and a maximum of six members, with the Writing Intensive subcommittee having six appointed members including the Director of the University Writing Center who will serve ex officio, without vote. Members will serve staggered, non-consecutive four-year terms. In choosing subcommittee members the Senate should give consideration to candidates' experience and/or interest in the particular area of the subcommittee.