University of North Carolina at Asheville


Minutes, May 1, 1997 - 3:45 p.m.

Members: R. Bowen, W. Bruce, T. Dohse, M. Downes, M. Ghidina, G. Henderson, G. Kormanik, P. McClellan, C. McKenzie, K. Moorhead, B. Sabo, H. Stern, R. Tynes, A. Wengrow, J. Pitts

Presiding: B. Larson (1996-97 Chair)

Excused: I. Rossell

Visitors: S. Browning, T. Cochran, B. Sensabaugh, A. Shope, M. Sidelnick

I. Call to Order
Dr. Larson called the meeting to order at 4:05 pm and welcomed new senators and guests to the first meeting of the 1997-1998 Faculty Senate.

II. Executive Committee elections were held with the following results:

Chair of the Senate and Chair of the Executive Committee: Lothar Dohse

At this time, Dr. Larson turned the meeting over to Dr. Dohse and elections continued as follows:

First Vice Chair and Chair of the Academic Policies Committee: Bill Sabo

Second Vice Chair and Chair of the Institutional Development Committee and University Planning Council: Arnold Wengrow

Secretary and Chair of the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee: Marcia Ghidina

III. Election of Alternate to replace Dr. Stern
The Senate elected alternate Dr. Marcel Andrade to fill Dr. Stern's 1997-1998 senatorial position. Dr. Stern will resume his position in the 1998-1999 academic year.

IV. Comments from the Chair
Dr. Dohse asked senators to submit their committee preferences. The Executive Committee convened after the meeting to determine the composition of the Senate committees.

V. Adjournment
Dr. Dohse adjourned the meeting at 4:35 pm.

Respectfully submitted by: Sandra Gravely
                                        Marcia Ghidina