University of North Carolina at Asheville


Minutes, April 27, 2006 – 4:30 pm



Members:     L. Atkinson, G. Boudreaux, B. Butler, K. Cole, P. Downes, M. Harvey, H. Holt,

B. Hook, B. Larson, D. Lisnerski, J. McClain, C. McKenzie, M. Moseley,

G. Nallan, B. Sabo, B. Wilson, J. Wood; M. Padilla.


Excused:     S. Judson


2005-06 Presiding Chair:  P. Nickless


Visitors:       H. Johnson, L. Mathews.




I.        Call to Order

          Dr. Pamela Nickless called the meeting to order at 4:45 pm and welcomed new and returning Senators and guests.  New Senators are Karen Cole, Mark Harvey, John McClain, Merritt Moseley, Bill Sabo, and Betsy Wilson.  Alternates are Chris Bell, Rob Bowen and Bert Holmes.


II.       Election of Officers

          Dr. Nickless explained that the new Faculty Senate Constitution allows nominations from the floor.  Executive Committee elections were held with the following results:


          Chair of the Senate and Chair of the Executive Committee:

                   Gary Nallan


          First Vice Chair and Chair of the Academic Policies Committee:

                   Claudel McKenzie


          Second Vice Chair and Chair of the Institutional Development Committee:

                   Bruce Larson  


          Third Vice Chair and Chair of the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee:

                   Don Lisnerski


III.      Committee Work-in-Progress 

          (Vote on Nominees to Standing Committees)

          The Senate approved the following FWDC nominations to Standing Committees:


          Distinguished Scholars Committee [10.3.1] {SD5500S}

     (continuing: Joe Daugherty (NS 05-07); Bill Haas (SS 05-07)


Cyndy Ho     – Hum (06-08)

Grant Hardy – Hum (06-08)

                        *C – 3          – 1 from each Division (06-08)


     Graduate Council – MLA [10.4.22] {SD3090S; SD0292F}

     (continuing: Volker Frank (SS 05-07); Randy Booker (NS 05-07); Rick Chess (Hum 05-07)


Ted Uldricks          – Hum (06-08)

Jeanne McGlinn     – SS (06-08)

*P – 1                       – NS (06-08)

     Integrative Liberal Studies Oversight Committee (ILSOC) [10.3.8] {SD0105F}


          Writing Intensives

          (continuing:  Keith Krumpe (NS 04-07), John Wood (SS 05-08), Dee James (Hum 04-07);

     APC member, ex officio)


              Heidi Kelley  –SS (06-09)


          Diversity Intensives

     (continuing: Keith Bramlett (SS 04-07); Melissa Burchard (Hum 04-07), Ken Betsalel (SS 05-08)


              Cathy Whitlock  – NS (06-09)

              Dee James        – Hum (06-09)


          Information Literacy Intensives

     (continuing: David Clarke (NS 05-08); Janet Ferguson (Hum 04-07); Mary Anna LaFratta (NS 05-08)


     Quantitative Intensives (Natural Sciences)

     (continuing: Charles McKnight (Hum 04-07); Dot Sulock (NS 05-08))


              Patrick Foo – SS (06-09)


     Intellectual Property [9.4] {SD1105S}

          (continuing: Lothar Dohse (NS 04-07); Grant Hardy (Hum 05-08)


              Surain Subramaniam   – SS (06-09)


     Minority Affairs Commission [10.3.2] {SD4606S}

     (continuing: Heon Lee, Chair (SS 06-08)


              Keya Maitra           – Hum (06-07)

              Horace Maxile        – Hum (06-08)

              *P  Cindy Ho               – Hum (06-07)

              *P  Dee James       – Hum (06-08)

              *P  New Appointee – NS (06-08)


     Transportation Committee {10.4.15} {SD3106S}

     (continuing: Chris Bell (SS 06-08); Jim Petranka (NS 06-08)


              Alternates:   Robert Berls      – Hum (06-08) (will be member 08-10)

                                 Dot Sulock        – NS (06-08) (will be member 08-10)


     University Relations Faculty Advisory Committee [10.6.2] {SD0790F}

     (continuing:  Claudel McKenzie, Chair (SS 05-07); Judy Beck (NS 05-07); 

                        Rob Bowen (Hum 05-07 and Representative to Foundation Board


          Duane Davis      – Hum (06-08)

          Linda Nelms      – SS (06-08)



     University Research Council (URC) [10.3.5] {SD3006S}

     (continuing: Herman Holt, Chair (NS 05-07); Merritt Moseley (Hum 05-07); Bryan Schaffer (SS 05-07)


          Bill Miller           – NS (06-08)

          Nancy Ruppert  – SS (06-08)


     University Service Council  [10.3.7] {SD5204s/5304s}

     (continuing: Kitti Reynolds (NS 05-07) – and replacement alternate for Fall semester while on OCSA


          Shirley Browning, Chair    – SS (06-08)

          Anita White-Carter           – Hum (06-08)

          Wayne Kirby                   – Arts (06-08)

          Jim McGlinn                    – Professional Programs (06-08)

          Linda Nelms                    – previous Feldman Award Winner (06-07)


     University Teaching Council (UTC) [10.3.6] {SD7503S}

     (continuing: Robert Yearout, Chair - previous award winner (05-07);  Chris Nicolay (NS 05-07)


          Greg Boudreaux     – FWDC Representative (06-07)

          Laura Facciponti     – Hum (06-08)

          Kathie Garbe          – SS (06-08)


     *C (Chancellor appointees)

     *P (Provost appointees)



V.      Committee Assignment Preferences

              Dr. Nallan asked senators to submit their committee preferences.  The Executive Committee will

meet immediately following the meeting to set committee assignments.


VI.     Adjournment  

          Dr. Nallan adjourned the meeting at 4:55 pm.


Respectfully submitted by:    Sandra Gravely

                                           Don Lisnerski