University of North Carolina at Asheville


Minutes, April 29, 2004

4:30pm meeting



Members:          L. Atkinson, B. Butler, R. Booker, T. Brown, L. Cornett, J. Konz, B. Larson,

                        D. Lisnerski, S. Mills, G. Nallan, P. Nickless, D. Pierce, I. Rossell, M. Ruiz.


Excused:          B. Reynolds.

2003-04 Presiding Chair: Steve Patch

Visitors:            ML Manns. 



I.          Call to Order

            Dr. Steve Patch called the meeting to order at 6:25 pm and welcomed new senators and guests.

            New Senators are Leigh Atkinson, Brian Butler, Bruce Larson, Don Lisnerski, and Gary Nallan; Alternates are: Linda Cornett, Rick Maas, and Scott Walters. 


II.         Election of Officers

            Executive Committee elections were held with the following results:

            Chair of the Senate and Chair of the Executive Committee:

                        Pamela Nickless


            Dr. Patch turned the floor over to Dr. Nickless and the elections continued:


            First Vice Chair and Chair of the Academic Policies Committee:

                        Jeff Konz


            Second Vice Chair and Chair of the Institutional Development Committee and University Planning Council:    Irene Rossell 


            Secretary and Chair of the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee:

                        Don Lisnerski


III.        Election of Alternate to replace Dee James

            Dr. Linda Cornett was elected to replace Dee James on the Faculty Senate for the 2004-2005 term. 


IV.        Committee Work-in-Progress 

            (Vote on Nominees to Standing Committees)

            The Senate approved the following FWDC nominations to Standing Committees:


            Distinguished Scholars Committee [10.3.1] (SD5500S) term 2004-2006

                        Wayne Kirby, Gordon Wilson


            Minority Affairs Commission [10.3.2] (SD5000S) term 2004-2006

                        Keya Maitra


            Slate for Alternate Faculty Conciliator (Senate sends to SGA) [10.3.3] (SD2695S)

            SGA chooses the Alternate from a list of Tenured faculty nominated by the Faculty Senate.  After

            one year the Alternate becomes the Conciliator.  Faculty Conciliator, 2004-2005: Don Lisnerski


                        Senate Alternate Faculty Conciliator nominees:

                        Don Diefenbach, Bill Haas, Alan Hantz, Pam Laughon                 


            University Research Council [10.3.5] (SD0981)  term 2004-2006

                        Joseph Berryhill   

                        Peg Downes


            University Teaching Council [10.3.6] (SD7503S) 

                        Tucker Cooke (2004-06)

                        Keith Bramlett (2004-05 Teaching Award recipient)


            University Service Council [10.3.7] (SD0700F)  term 2004-2006

                        Shirley Browning

                        Brian Butler

                        Mary Lynn Manns (ex-FWDC consultant)


            Graduate Council - MLA [10.4.22] (SD3090S)  term 2004-2006

                        Brian Hook

                        Mike Stuart


            University Foundation Board [10.6.1]  term 2004-2006

                        Richard DeLuca


            University Relations Faculty Advisory [10.6.2] (SD0790F)  term 2004-2006

                        Jackie Mattingly Hum

                        Cathy Whitlock              at-large


            Intellectual Property  [9.4] (SD3402S)  term 2004-2007

                        Lothar Dohse    


V.         Committee Assignment Preferences

            Dr. Nickless asked senators to submit their committee preferences.  The Executive Committee will

meet immediately following the meeting to set committee assignments.


VI.        Adjournment  

            Dr. Nickless adjourned the meeting at 6:45 pm.


Respectfully submitted by:          Sandra Gravely

                                                Don Lisnerski