University of North Carolina at Asheville
Minutes, May 4, 2000 - 4:30 pm

Members: M. Burchard, P. Caulfield, F. Davenport, R. Dunning, C. James, K. Krumpe,
J. Kuhlman, B. Larson, H. Lee, P. McClellan, C. Mitchell, D. Peifer, J. Rackham,
T. Rizzo, G. Wilson; Alternates P. Nickless, D. Van Engelen.

Presiding: G. Kormanik (1999-2000 Chair)


I. Call to Order
Dr. Kormanik welcomed new senators to the first meeting of the 2000-2001 Faculty Senate and called the meeting to order at 4:50 pm. He introduced new Senators Melissa Burchard, Charles James, Heon Lee, Jim Kuhlman and Jeff Rackham.

The Alternates are Pamela Nickless, Debra Van Engelen, and Scott Walters. Alternates are to serve "with voice but without vote" and are to attend all Senate meetings.

II. Executive Committee Election Results
Executive Committee elections were held with the following results:

Chair of the Senate and Chair of the Executive Committee: Peter Caulfield

Dr. Kormanik turned the meeting over to Dr. Caulfield and elections continued.

First Vice Chair and Chair of the Academic Policies Committee: Cathy Mitchell

Second Vice Chair and Chair of the Institutional Development Committee and University Planning Council: Bruce Larson

Secretary and Chair of the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee: Tracey Rizzo

III. Committee Work in Progress
The Senate approved the following FWDC Committee Nominations:

Distinguished Scholars (2 full professors)
- Allan Combs
- Robert Yeager

Minority Affairs Commission (1)
- Afaf Omer

University Research Council (1 social science; 1 professional program)
- Volker Frank
- Bryan Sinclair

University Teaching Council (1 humanities; 1 social science)
- Robert Bowen
- Sarah Bumgarner

University Graduate Council (2)
- Paul McDonald
- Helen Wykle

UNCA Foundation Board (1)
Robert Yearout

IV. Committee Assignment Preference
Dr. Caulfield asked senators to submit their committee preferences. The Executive Committee will convene at the close of the meeting to determine the makeup of the various committees.

V. Adjournment
Dr. Caulfield adjourned the meeting at 5:00 pm.

Respectfully submitted by: Sandra Gravely and Tracey Rizzo