THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT ASHEVILLE FACULTY SENATE SPECIAL SESSION Minutes Regarding Faculty Representation on the Chancellor Search Committee October 5, 2017; 4:07 p.m. Red Oak Conference Room

| Members | M. Stratton, M. Cameron, B. Butler, L. Hewitt, J. Beck, L. Bond, K. Boyle, R. Criser, |
|-----------|---|
| Present: | P. Haschke, L. Holland, M. McClure, M. Richmond, A. Rote, N. Ruppert, M. Smith, |
| | S. Traboulsi, A. Wray, J. Urgo. |
| Members | A. Boakye-Boaten. |
| Excused: | |
| Visitors: | R. Bowen, D. Davis, A. Dunn, D. Eggers, M. Galloway, O. Gloag, B. Skidmore. |

I. Call to Order:

Dr. Micheal Stratton

Dr. Stratton called the special session to order. Dr. Stratton gave an update regarding the Chancellor Search from Shannon Earle, the liaison for this Chancellor Search. The Board of Trustees will be having a closed meeting on October 11. After that meeting, two recommendations will be made to President Spellings: one will be the composition of the search committee and the other will be the recommendation of Interim Chancellor. We anticipate hearing from President Spellings who she has selected as the Interim Chancellor as well as the search committee members sometime around October 16.

II. Nomination and Voting Procedure:

Dr. Micheal Stratton

Nomination and Voting Guidelines:

1. At least one full-time faculty representative (and no more than two) will come from the traditional general division of departments, namely (i) Humanities, (ii) Natural Sciences, (iii) Social Sciences. Faculty elected will represent the institution as a whole. Note that faculty colleagues in University Programs are assigned to respective divisions in accordance with the annual faculty elections per Section 10.2.1.3 in the Faculty Handbook. The Chair of the Senate will serve as one of the faculty representatives. If the chair is unable to serve, another Faculty Senate member will take their place.

2. No more than one person will come from any single department.

3. Nominations will be made and closed for each of these divisions, in turn.

4. Voting for each divisional representative will proceed after nominations have been made for all of the divisions.

5. Once all divisions are represented, nominees will be considered for the remaining position, per (1).

6. Once the five faculty representatives are established, the Senate will vote on the list as a whole.

7. Balloting will be in secret. A simple majority of those eligible to vote will rule. In the absence of a majority, a run-off procedure will be used.

Clarification of the Nomination and Voting Guidelines:

In other words, no division will have more than 2 representatives, and no department will have more than 1 representative. The Senate Chair is included in these counts.

The reason there are many rounds of voting is the rules say "a simple majority of those eligible to vote will rule." It may take several rounds before a winner receives the majority of 10 votes.

The Run-off procedure:

- 1. After a round of voting, if there is not a clear winner receiving 10 votes, then the candidate with the lowest number of votes and those who did not receive votes are removed from the slate.
- 2. Another opportunity of discussion commences until Senate is ready to vote again.
- 3. Another round of ballots are distributed where Senators vote only for one of the remaining candidates.

Minutes for the Closed Session:

Lisa Sellers, Faculty Senate Administrative Assistant, explained that during the closed session the tape recorder is turned off. She does take minutes as required; however, her minutes are basically the recording of the votes for each round, any motions made, and whether the motions passed. Ms. Sellers does not record any comments that were made during the discussion portions of the closed session. The closed minutes are distributed for approval at the next Senate meeting.

III. Statements from Nominees:

Each nominee present had an opportunity to address the Faculty Senate. After those present were given their opportunity to speak, the Senate Chair read brief statements from nominees who were absent. The list below is by division then by the order of when the nomination was received.

Nominees (those who provided written statements are linked to their name):

<u>Humanities</u> <u>Melodie Galloway (Music)</u> <u>Ann Dunn (Humanities)</u> <u>Robert Bowen (Drama)</u> <u>Ellen Pearson (History)</u> <u>Laura Bond (Arts and Ideas/IST)</u> <u>Brian Hook (Classics)</u> <u>Dan Pierce (History)</u> <u>Brent Skidmore (Art and Art History)</u> Oliver Gloag (Modern Languages and Literatures) <u>Duane Davis (Philosophy)</u>

Social Sciences Trey Adcock (Education) Mark Gibney (Political Science)

<u>Natural Sciences</u> Dee Eggers (Environmental Studies) <u>Ted Meigs (Biology)</u>

- IV. Confirm List & Officially Close Nominations for each area: Dr. Micheal Stratton Each division's slate as stated above was confirmed. Motions were made to close nominations which was seconded. Each slate of nominations was approved and closed without dissent.
- Closed Session of Faculty Senate for Balloting
 Dr. Stratton adjourned Senate to closed session at 4:30 p.m.
- VI. Reconvene and Formally Endorse the Slate of Nominees Produced: Dr. Micheal Stratton Faculty Senate Reconvened into an open session at 8:15 p.m.

A motion was made to formally endorse the following names to represent the faculty on the Chancellor Search Committee:

Micheal Stratton, Faculty Senate Chair Ellen Pearson, Humanities Division Trey Adcock, Social Sciences Division Ted Meigs, Natural Sciences Division Melodie Galloway, At-Large Laura Bond, Alternate, in the event one of the five above steps down

The motion was seconded. The names were endorsed without dissent.

VII. Adjourn

Dr. Stratton adjourned the special session meeting at 8:17 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by: Lisa Sellers Executive Committee