# THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT ASHEVILLE FACULTY SENATE

Senate Document Number2115FDate of Senate Approval12/03/15

-----

Statement of Faculty Senate Action:

### FWDC 5: Revision of Membership for University School Teacher Education Council (USTEC) (Faculty Handbook sections 10.4.8)

Effective date: Full implementation Fall 2015.

**Summary:** This proposal changes requirements concerning membership on the University School Teacher Education Council (USTEC) by removing language that requires specific numbers of stakeholders to serve from each of the Local Education Agencies (LEAs). Additionally, LEA partners are no longer specifically named - (i.e. Buncombe County Schools, etc.) due to the dynamic nature of the public school districts that are served by the Department of Education, and with whom we have memorandums of understandings. Additional minor language changes, such as changing 'UNCA' to 'UNC Asheville' and 'Education Department' to the 'Department of Education', are also included in the revision.

**Rationale:** Public school administrators and educators are facing major demands on their time. Likewise, UNC Asheville faculty are experiencing increased workload demands. As such, the Department of Education desires to decrease the number of required members on this committee. It is possible to complete the work of the committee with a smaller membership. In fact, a smaller group is desirable so as to facilitate more authentic discussion and make committee work during actual meetings more manageable.

#### Current 10.4.8 language:

# 10.4.8 University School Teacher Education Council (formerly FACTE) (SD4401S)

In 1997, the NC General Assembly appropriated money for the creation of partnerships between UNC system departments of education and public schools. UNC Asheville was granted funding to begin such a partnership. Members of the Education Department, public school teachers, administrators, and arts & science faculty created a new structure, USTEP, to coordinate partnership activities. Because of the overlap in purpose and membership between USTEP and the Faculty Advisory Committee on Teacher Education, the two have been merged into a single entity called the University School Teacher Education Council (USTEC)

#### <u>Purpose</u>

1. Provide coordination and articulation between the academic departments, the Education Department, and the LEAs in following the state's guidelines for the preparation of teachers within UNC Asheville's liberal arts model for teacher certification;

2. Develop the goals, objectives, and strategic plan for guiding the work of USTEC;

3. Make recommendations to the Education Department Chairperson based on reports from the 3 Subcommittees: Initial Preparation of Teachers, Induction (initially licensed teachers), and Professional Development. Each subcommittee chair will serve as a member of the USTEC University Standing Committee; and

4. Encourage all members of USTEC to participate in the work of one of the 3 USTEP subcommittees.

### <u>Membership</u>

A total of 25 people including:

- 6 UNC Asheville Education Faculty (5+Chair), appointed by the Education Department Chair and to include a USTEP Director appointed by Education Department Chair.
- 1 Outreach Coordinator
- Provost and VCAA (or designee)
- 5 UNC Asheville Arts & Science Faculty, appointed by Provost and VCAA in consultation with Education Department Chair and to include faculty representing the Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, and Humanities
- 4 public school teachers, appointed by the Education Department Chair and to include representatives from three partnership LEAs (Henderson County, Buncombe County, Asheville City)
- 4 public school administrators (the Superintendents or their designees from each of the following systems: Asheville, Buncombe, Henderson, and Madison)
- 3 community members, appointed by the Chair of the Education Department
- 2 UNC Asheville students, appointed by the Chair of the Education Department

The Administrative Committee will include the Education Department Chair, USTEC Director, and the Outreach Coordinator.

The Chair of the Education Department, the Provost and VCAA, and superintendents are permanent members. The USTEP director is appointed annually by the Education Department Chair. All other members serve a staggered 2 year term. Committee and partnership members from the 2000-2001 academic year are expected to continue on or rotate off based on their current terms, whichever constitutes the end of their 2nd full year.

<u>Recommendations to</u>: Chair, Dept. of Education <u>Reports to</u>: the Provost and VCAA

# 10.4.8 University School Teacher Education Council

In 1997, the NC General Assembly appropriated money for the creation of partnerships between UNC system departments of education and public schools. UNC Asheville was granted funding to begin such a partnership. Members of the Department of Education, public school teachers, administrators, and arts & science faculty created a new structure, University School Teacher Education Partnership (USTEP), to coordinate partnership activities. Because of the overlap in purpose and membership between USTEP and the Faculty Advisory Committee on Teacher Education, the two have been merged into a single entity called the University School Teacher Education Council (USTEC).

#### Purpose

- Provide coordination and articulation between the University's Arts and Sciences departments, the Department of Education, and the Local Education Agencies (LEAs) in following the state's guidelines for the preparation of teachers within UNC Asheville's liberal arts model for teacher licensure;
- 2. Develop the goals, objectives, and strategic plan for guiding the work of USTEC;
- **3.** Make recommendations to the Department of Education Chairperson based on reports from USTEP subcommittees. Each USTEP subcommittee chair will serve as a member of the USTEC University Standing Committee; and
- **4.** Encourage all members of USTEC to participate in the work of one of the USTEP subcommittees.

### Membership

- At least 3 UNC Asheville Department of Education faculty, appointed by the Department of Education Chair and to include the USTEP Director, appointed by the Department of Education Chair.
- Department of Education Outreach Coordinator
- Provost and VCAA (or designee)
- 3 UNC Asheville Arts & Science Faculty, appointed by VCAA in consultation with the Department of Education Chair and to include faculty representing the Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, and Humanities
- At least, 1 public school teacher, appointed by the Department of Education Chair and to include representatives from partnership LEAs
- At least, 1 public school administrator (the Superintendents or their designees) from each partner LEA system
- At least, 1 community member, appointed by the Chair of the Department of Education
- At least, 1 UNC Asheville student, appointed by the Chair of the Department of Education

The Administrative Committee will include the Education Department Chair, USTEC Director, and the Outreach Coordinator.

The Chair of the Education Department, the Provost and VCAA (or designee), and superintendents are permanent members. The USTEP director is appointed annually by the Education Department Chair. All other members serve a staggered 2 year term. Committee and partnership members from the 2000-2001 academic year are expected to continue on or rotate off based on their current terms, whichever constitutes the end of their 2nd full year.

<u>Recommendations to</u>: Chair, Dept. of Education <u>Reports to</u>: the Provost and VCAA