THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT ASHEVILLE FACULTY SENATE

Date of Senate Approval	<u>12/04/14</u>
Statement of Faculty Senate	Action:

FWDC 5: Revisions to Position Allocation Committee (Faculty Handbook 10.1.2)

Effective date: Immediately

Summary: This document implements three changes:

- a) Revision of faculty membership to be one department chair or program director from each of the four academic program areas (Humanities, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, and University Programs).
- b) Elimination of the section on implementation.
- c) Revision of the duties of the Position Allocation Committee.

Rationale:

- a) To reflect the reality that University Programs now includes both programs and departments.
- b) No longer required since the transition addressed took place in 2008-10.
- c) The most substantive change in the duties is to remove references to a three-year allocation plan. The Position Allocation Committee has never been able to produce a forward-looking three-year plan because of the difficulty of having sufficient information for making plans of this kind. The PAC does not know retirement plans of faculty, the availability of faculty lines, future changes in state budgets, and other relevant information with enough advance notice to be able to construct a meaningful three-year allocation plan.

However, PAC concurs with the intention behind the charge to develop a three-year allocation plan, namely that allocation of tenure-track lines should be done with a long-term vision. As a result, PAC will spend considerable time each fall analyzing enrollment information, trends in higher education, university strategic objectives, and other information before it considers requests for tenure-track positions to better inform its allocation recommendations to the Provost.

I. Delete 10.1.2:

10.1.2 Position Allocation Committee (SD8508S) (SD1904S)

The Position Allocation Committee is the primary means by which faculty can have input into the allocation process whenever a new faculty line is available or whenever an existing line becomes open (through retirement, resignation, or non-renewal of contract).

Structure:

The Committee consists of:

- Provost
- Dean for Natural Sciences
- Dean for Social Sciences
- Dean for Humanities
- Associate Provost and Dean of University Programs
- 3 Department Chairs, serving staggered 2-year terms

One from each academic division, chosen by the chairs in that academic division.

No person may be reappointed for consecutive terms.

No department may be represented by its chair in consecutive terms.

• 1 Program Director, serving 2-year term

Chosen by the program directors.

No program may be represented by its director in consecutive terms.

• 1 Faculty Senate representative, serving 2-year term

Appointed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee.

Two persons from the same department should never serve on this committee at the same time.

Implementation:

In September 2008 department chairs and the program directors will select their four faculty representatives. The four faculty members selected will draw lots to determine which two representatives will serve 2-year terms and which two will serve 1-year terms. The Faculty Senate will select its representative in September 2008. The Provost will convene the Position Allocation Committee in October 2008.

Duties:

- To make recommendations to the Provost regarding the allocation of faculty lines to academic
 departments and programs according to a three-year allocation plan that the committee is to
 develop and continually update.
- To develop and annually revise faculty hiring guidelines.
- To consider which responsibilities originally delegated to the Council of Chairs could be profitably assumed by the Position Allocation Committee.
- To report annually to the Faculty Senate the three-year allocation plan, changes in hiring guidelines and suggestions as to how the Position Allocation Committee can be a more effective faculty voice.

Rules for Voting:

A member may not vote for a proposal from his or her department or program of appointment.

(For the purposes of this document, a "Chair" is any Department Chair or Program Director that directly evaluates faculty for merit, reappointment, tenure, and promotion.)

II. Replace with new 10.1.2:

10.1.2 Position Allocation Committee (SD8508S) (SD1904S)

The Position Allocation Committee is the primary means by which faculty can have input into the allocation process whenever a new faculty line is available or whenever an existing line becomes open (through retirement, resignation, or non-renewal of contract).

Structure:

The Committee consists of:

- Provost
- Dean of Natural Sciences
- Dean of Social Sciences
- Dean of Humanities
- Associate Provost and Dean of University Programs
- 4 Department Chairs or Program Directors, serving staggered 2-year terms
 - --One from each program area, chosen by the chairs and program directors in that program area.
 - --No person may be reappointed for consecutive terms.
 - --No department/program may be represented by its chair/director in consecutive terms.
- 1 Faculty Senate representative, serving 2-year term
 - --Appointed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee.

Two persons from the same department should never serve on this committee at the same time.

Duties:

- To consider the faculty hiring implications of the university's strategic objectives, curricular reforms, national trends in higher education, and current university data.
- To review faculty hiring guidelines annually based on assessment of university faculty needs.
- To make recommendations to the Provost regarding the allocation of faculty lines to academic departments and programs after considering requests for positions, assessment of university faculty needs, and faculty hiring guidelines.

Rules for Voting:

A member may not vote for a proposal from his or her department or program of appointment or joint appointment.