University of North Carolina at Asheville FACULTY SENATE MEETING Minutes, May 2, 2013 (6:00 pm)

Senate

Members: M. Burchard, C. McKnight, G. Kormanik, B. Hook, K. Betsalel, L. Bond, R. Bowen, M. Cameron,

D. Diefenbach, D. Eggers, M. Galloway, S. Kaplan, K. Ray, R. Roig, N. Ruppert (via teleconference),

M. Stratton, S. Walters, J. Wingert.

I. Call to Order and Announcements

Dr. Burchard called the first meeting of the 2013-14 Faculty Senate to order at 6:00 pm and welcomed the new senators.

II. Election of Alternate

Since the 2013 Election, the Executive Committee has received two resignations which they accepted. Bill Miller resigned because he is retiring and Kevin Moorhead asked for acceptance of his resignation since he has served recently a three-year term on the Faculty Senate.

The Senate elected alternate Laura Bond to complete the 2013-2016 term of Kevin Moorhead and elected alternate Marietta Cameron to complete the 2013-2015 term of Bill Miller.

III. Election of Officers

Executive Committee elections were held with the following results:

Chair of the Senate and Chair of the Executive Committee:

Melissa Burchard

First Vice Chair and Chair of the Academic Policies Committee: Charles McKnight

Second Vice Chair and Chair of the Institutional Development Committee:
Gregg Kormanik

Third Vice Chair and Chair of the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee:

Brian Hook

Dr. Burchard asked the remaining members of the Faculty Senate to submit their preferences for the senate committee they wished to serve during the 2013-14 year. The Executive Committee will meet immediately after this meeting adjourns to assign members to these committees.

2013-2014 Faculty Senate and Committee Assignments

IV. Faculty Welfare and Development Committee

Dr. Brian Hook reported for the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee.

Committee Work-in-Progress (Nominees to Standing Committees)

Dr. Roig was asked to present the FWDC nominations to the Faculty Senate:

FWDC 2013-2014 Appointments for Senate Approval

In accordance with <u>Section 10.1</u> of the Faculty Handbook, the new Faculty Senate elects new members to many of the faculty standing committees. FWDC prepared the list of nominees using the information generated from committee preferences, as well as taking into consideration those who have not served on a committee.

The Faculty Senate approved the following FWDC nominations to Standing Committees:

Minority Affairs Commission (SD4606S) (SD5000S)

continuing: 2011-14: Leisa Rundquist

2013-16 Jimin Lee

University Research Council (URC) (SD1209S; SD7808S)

Recommendations of Senate Chair

continuing: 2012-14 Erica Locklear

2012-14 Donna Parsons

2013-15 Eva Bares Arts

2015-15 Leah Mathews Social Sciences

University Teaching Council (UTC) (SD1309S)

continuing: 2012-14 Sonya DiPalma

2013-15 Wiebke Strehl Humanities2013-15 Ted Meigs Natural Sciences

University Service Council (USC) (SD7908S)

continuing: 2011-14 Micheal Stratton

2012-15 Tamie Beldue

2013-16 Ed Johnson Natural Sciences

ILS Intensive Subcommittees (SD6309S; SD8307S, SD0105F; SD0304F; SD0703F)

4-yr non-consecutive; max of 5 voting members, except WI=8 voting members)

ILS Diversity

continuing:	2010-14	Katherine Zubko

2010-14 Katherine Min 2011-15 Evelyn Chiang 2012-16 Heidi Kelley

2013-17 Jennifer Rhode Ward

ILS Information Literacy

continuing: 2010-14 Cynthia Canejo

2012-16

2010-14 Reed Roig
2011-15 James Kuhlman
2011-15 Christopher Oakley
2012-16 Brandy Bourne

Tarsem Purewal

No appointments necessary

ILS Quantitative Intensive

continuing: 2010-14 Charles McKnight

2011-15 Dean Brock2011-15 Janine Haugh2007-16 Christopher Bell

No appointments necessary

ILS Writing Intensive

continuing: 2010-14 James Traywick 2010-14 Curt Cloninger 2011-15 Rebecca Hale 2012-15 David Hopes 2012-16 Tracey Rizzo

No appointments necessary

ILS Topical Cluster

continuing: 2011-15 Laura Bond

2012-16

2012-16 Kenneth Betsalel2012-16 Barbara Reynolds

2013-17 Kim Brown (reappointed)

Mark West

ILS Colloquium

continuing: 2010-14 Rodger Payne

2012-14 Catherine Whitlock2011-15 Constance Schrader

Appointment is pending

Graduate Council - MLA (SD3908S)

With MLA teaching experience, one from each division

continuing: 2011-14 Randy Booker

2012-15 Keya Maitra

2013-16 Michael Neelon Social Sciences

University Relations Faculty Advisory (SD5407S)

continuing: 2012-14 Volker Frank

2012-14 Daniel Pierce

2013-15 Tiece Ruffin Social Sciences2013-15 Ted Meigs Natural Sciences

Intellectual Property Committee (See Section 9.4) (SD1105S) (SD3402S)

continuing: 2011-14 Virginia Derryberry

2011-14 Elena Adell

2013-16 George Heard

UNCA University Foundation Board

continuing: None

2013-14 Mark Sidelnick replace Robert Tatum

2013-14 Robert Tynes

Library, Information Resources and Technology Committee (SD0706F)

continuing: 2011-14 Betsy Wilson

2011-14 Sonya DiPalma

2013-16 William Sabo

Transportation Committee (SD3106S)

continuing: 2012-14 Cynthia Chadwick

2012-14 Douglas Miller (alternate)

2013-15 Eric Tomberlin

2013-15 Brian Felix (alternate)

Sustainability Committee (SD7907S)

continuing: 2012-14 Dee Eggers

2012-14 Grace Campbell (alternate)

2013-15 Steve Patch

2013-15 Mark Harvey (alternate)

Textbook Committee (SD3508S)

continuing: 2012-14 Grant Hardy

2012-14 Alice Weldon

2013-15 Jeanne McGlinn Social Sciences

2013-15 John McCain University Programs

Student Affairs Faculty Advisory Committee (SD0507F)

consulted with VC Haggard

continuing: 2011-14 Oguz Erdur

2012-15 Peter Caulfield

Faculty Mentor Program Coordinators (SD8108S)

continuing: 2011-14 Alice Weldon

2013-15 Jason Wingert

Inquiry ARC Advisory Committee (SD4612S)

continuing: 2012-14 Susan Reiser

2012-15 Judith Beck

No appointments necessary

Institutional Effectiveness Committee (SD2612S)

continuing: 2012-14 Kim Brown

2012-14 Cynthia Canejo

Appointment is pending

Faculty Conciliator and Alternate

For Informational Purposes:

2013-14 Afaf Omer

2013-14 Ellen Pearson - Alternate

Second Reading

<u>FWDC13/IDC4</u>: Certificate Procedure Additions (Faculty Handbook 5.4.2 Program Changes)

Dr. Kormanik had edits that were accepted by the Faculty Senate. Dr. Hooks considered these to be friendly amendments and asked Dr. Kormanik to forward the edits to him so he could make the changes. A motion was made and seconded to accept document FWDC 13/IDC 4

FWDC 13/IDC 4 was approved without dissent and became SD0113F.

- VI. Institutional Development Committee/University Planning Council Reports
 No report
- VII. Academic Policies Committee Report

Second Reading

APC 99: Add new course prefix, WLNG, for World Languages

Dr. McKnight said this covers the study abroad students by adding the WLNG course prefix. It helps in assigning credit hours earned.

The motion was made to accept APC 99 and it was seconded. No Discussion.

APC 99 approved without dissent and became SD0213F.

- IX. Old Business. None.
- X. New Business. None.
- XI. Adjourn

Dr. Burchard adjourned the meeting at 6:27 pm.

Respectfully submitted by: Lisa Sellers

Executive Committee