## University of North Carolina at Asheville FACULTY SENATE MEETING Minutes, April 24, 2008 – 4:30pm

## Senate

Members: C. Bell, K. Cole, L. Dohse, B. Haas, M. Harvey, J. Konz, A. Lanou, B. Larson, L. Nelms, L. Russell, J. McClain, M. Moseley, E. Pearson, D. Pierce, B. Sabo, S. Wasileski, B. Wilson, S. Schuman.

2007-08 Senate Chair presiding: P. Downes

Visitors: G. Ettari, G. Heard,

## I. Call to Order and Announcements

Dr. Downes called the meeting to order at 3:35 pm and welcomed new Senators and guests.

## II. Election of Officers

Dr. Downes explained that the Faculty Senate Constitution allows nominations from the floor. Executive Committee elections were held with the following results:

Chair of the Senate and Chair of the Executive Committee: Lothar Dohse

Dr. Downes turned the floor over to Dr. Dohse and the elections continued:

First Vice Chair and Chair of the Academic Policies Committee: Bill Sabo

Second Vice Chair and Chair of the Institutional Development Committee: Betsy Wilson

Third Vice Chair and Chair of the Faculty Welfare and Development Committee: Merritt Moseley

### III. Election of Alternate

Dr. Dohse announced that Dr. Hartsfield is leaving UNCA at the end of the academic year and an alternate will be elected to fill her 2007-10 term on the Senate. Alternates are George Heard, Gary Ettari, and Kathie Garbe. The Senate elected George Heard to fulfill Dr. Hartsfield's term.

# IV. Committee Work-in-Progress

# (Vote on Nominees to Standing Committees)

Dr. Konz asked why the membership of the Distinguished Scholars Committee and the ILSOC committee were on hold. Dr. Lanou explained that the Distinguished Scholars Committee was on hold last year and FWDC will needs to clarify its status. ILSOC requested that the Senate delay voting on its membership until they could review FWDC's recommendations as a group.

The Senate approved the following FWDC nominations to Standing Committees:

10.3.1 Distinguished Scholars Committee ON HOLD!!!!

### 10.3.2 Minority Affairs Commission {SD4606S}

continuing: Lei Han (NS 07-10); Janet Bowman (SS 06-09); \*P Afaf Omer (SS 07-10)

Samer Traboulsi Hum 08-11

#### 10.3.3 Faculty Conciliator and Alternate Ken Betsalel (08-09)

# (08-10) Alternate (SGA appoints from slate of Senate nominees)

### <u>10.3.4</u> Faculty Scholarship and Service Awards Committee

continuing: Laura Facciponti, Amy Lanou, Nancy Ruppert (all 08-09)

#### ON HOLD UNTIL 2008-09 SENATE COMMITTEES FORMED

Faculty #1	FWDC Re	presentative
Faculty #2	USC	"
Faculty #3	URC	**

# 10.3.5 University Research Council (URC) {SD3006S}

continuing: Lora Holland (Hum 07-09)

\*P Gregg Kormanik (administrator ex officio 07-09)

SS 08-09	replace Tracy Lambert Griggs' term
NS 08-10	
Prof 08-10	
Arts 08-10	
	NS 08-10 Prof 08-10

### 10.3.6 University Teaching Council (UTC) {SD7503S}

continuing: Sally Wasileski (NS 07-09), Bert Holmes (at large previous award winner 07-09)

	FWDC member (08-09)
Brian Hook	Hum 08-10
Ann Weber	SS 08-10

10.3.7 University Service Council (USC) {SD5204s/5304s}

Shirley Browning	SS 08-11	3-yr staggered term
Greg Boudreaux	NS 08-10	**
Sandra Malicote	Hum 08-09	"

10.3.8 ILS Oversight Committee (ISLOC){SD8307S,SD0105F;SD0304F;SD0703F} ON HOLD!!!!

10.3.9 Graduate Council - MLA {SD3908S; SD3090S; SD0292F}

Three faculty with MLA teaching experience, one each from Hum, NS, SS.

Elizabeth Snyder	Hum 08-09	3-yr rotating terms
Volker Frank	SS 08-10	"
Randy Booker	NS 08-11	"

### 10.3.10 University Relations Faculty Advisory {SD0790F}

Five faculty, one each from Hum, SS, NS, UNCA Foundation (e.g., one of the 2 Senate-elected faculty reps to the Foundation), and one at-large member. 2-yr terms continuing: Rob Bowen (Hum 07-09 and Representative to Foundation Board: Reappointment) Claudel McKenzie (SS 07-09 Reappointment); Ted Meigs (NS 07-09)

Helen WykleHum 08-10Leigh Atkinsonat large 08-10

10.3.11 Intellectual Property Committee (See Section 9.4) {SD1105S}

continuing: Surain Subramaniam (SS 06-09); Noah Allen (NS 07-10)

Virginia Derryberry Hum 08-11

### 10.3.12 UNCA University Foundation Board

continuing: Rob Bowen (07-09); \*C Bert Holmes (07-09)

### Tammy Huffman (08-10)

)
ne
-
r

## VI. Adjourn

V.

at

# Remarks by Dr. Schuman

Dr. Schuman said that the work this year's Senate has done has been important and excellent. Many of the issues coming before the Senate next year define the core character of this institution. The Senate has a huge agenda before it yet it is a great opportunity. It is going to be a crucial year for the Senate and the university.

Dr. Dohse adjourned the meeting at 4:50pm.

Respectfully submitted by:	Sandra Gravely
	Executive Committee